Well, here I am…

I’ve been thinking about this for a while.  I read a lot of tabletop RPG blogs, mainly D&D based, a lot of them in the OSR, and comment from time to time, as a way of connecting to a game I no longer have time to play with any frequency.  Those are often difficult discussions; I think I come from a different place than a lot of TTRPG bloggers, and I sometimes feel like a voice in the wilderness.

I needed a place to fully express my opinions without filling out some guy’s comments section, and to do so on a timetable of my own choosing.  There are not a lot of people who prefer the fourth edition D&D combat engine to play a pre-Hickman style of D&D.  I don’t know if anyone out there shares my opinions.  I guess we will see.

I’m not entirely sure what I am going to do with the blog, but I expect there will be at least some discussion of how 4e mechanics can be used for an old school game, and how the young’uns can learn a thing or two from the OSR, even if it tends to be curmudgeonly.

I may also pick up where Bryce Lynch left off over at tenfootpole.org.  Bryce wrote reviews of the adventures in the print issues of Dungeon magazine – that is, the first 150 issues.  I might pick it up with issue 155, the first 4e issue.  I don’t know how far I will get, but for the time being, reviewing published 4e adventures will be a good way to illustrate my thoughts on kickin’ 4e old school.

Leave a Reply

